Our Story

In 2021, accountant Mario Tremblay and engineer Marc Lacroix co-founded ÉcoDélys, a company specializing in gourmet foods derived from entomophagy, with a particular focus on mealworms.

Our Mission

Humanity is heading straight into a wall if it doesn't take control of its ecological responsibilities. Traditional agriculture will no longer be able to sustain a continuously growing global population. While the technology exists to make farming sustainable, production costs will skyrocket. Meat will become a luxury only accessible to the wealthy.

Veganism might be more environmentally friendly than traditional agriculture, but it doesn't fulfill all of human nutritional needs. Entomophagy (eating insects) comes to the rescue, providing foods as nutritious as those from traditional agriculture but with even less environmental impact than veganism.

The breeding of insects generates fewer greenhouse gases than meat. For the same quantity of proteins, chicken produces 23% to 167% more greenhouse gases than insects and up to 1200%
more for beef [1].

We founded ÉcoDélys to explore the gastronomic aspect of entomophagy. Our first product is a spread that is strikingly similar to the finest liver pâtés, but with a better nutritional profile.

[1] Voirhttps://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s13593-017-0452-8

Discover Our Vision and Commitment

  • We created the brand TÉNÉBRION GOURMAND to explore the gastronomic aspect of entomophagy.
  • Our first product is a spread that is strikingly similar to the finest liver pâtés, but with a better nutritional profile.
  • Our patent-pending process allows for the extraction of the mealworm larva's exoskeleton, providing a better mouthfeel, and sterilizes the flesh, eliminating contamination risks and facilitating product preservation.
  • Our mealworms are bred by TriCycle in circular and local economy from spent grain, an otherwise industrial waste, resulting in brewing 3 Brasseurs's beer.

Quality and Sustainability

Not all proteins are created equal. Unlike plant-based protein sources, which always lack at least one amino acid, our spreads offer a complete protein profile. In fact, our protein rating (PDCAAS) is on par with the best steaks. Moreover, the saturated fat content of our spreads is far lower than any other traditional product with a similar taste.

Additionally, the production of our mealworms employs circular economy principles. They are raised on a food waste product called "spent grain" that results from beer brewing, which would otherwise be discarded. Our patent-pending process allows for the extraction of the mealworm larva's exoskeleton, providing a better mouthfeel, and sterilizes the flesh, eliminating contamination risks and facilitating product preservation. The exoskeleton is then recycled as fertilizer for agriculture.

Notre Histoire

En 2021, le comptable Mario Tremblay et l'ingénieur Marc Lacroix ont co-fondé ÉcoDélys, une entreprise de produits gastronomiques issus de l'entomophagie, spécialisée dans le ténébrion meunier.

Notre Mission

L'humanité se dirige droit dans un mur si elle ne prend pas en main ses responsabilités écologiques. L'agriculture traditionnelle ne pourra plus subvenir aux besoins d'une population mondiale en constante croissance. Bien que la technologie existe pour rendre l'agriculture durable, les coûts de production exploseront. La viande deviendra un luxe seulement accessible aux plus aisés.

Le véganisme pourrait être plus respectueux de l'environnement que l'agriculture traditionnelle, mais il ne répond pas à tous les besoins nutritionnels humains. L'entomophagie (consommation d'insectes) vient à la rescousse, offrant des aliments aussi nutritifs que ceux de l'agriculture traditionnelle mais avec encore moins d'impact environnemental que le véganisme.

L’élevage des insectes génère moins de gaz à effet de serre que la viande. Pour la même quantité de protéines, le poulet produit de 23% à 167% fois plus de GES que les insectes et jusqu’à 1200% plus pour le bœuf[1].

Nous avons fondé ÉcoDélys pour explorer l'aspect gastronomique de l'entomophagie. Notre premier produit est une tartinade remarquablement semblable aux meilleurs pâtés de foie, mais avec un profil nutritionnel supérieur.

 [1] Voir https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s13593-017-0452-8

Découvrez notre vision et notre engagement

  • Nous avons créé la marque TÉNÉBRION GOURMAND pour explorer l'aspect gastronomique de l'entomophagie.
  • Notre premier produit est une tartinade remarquablement semblable aux meilleurs pâtés de foie, mais avec un profil nutritionnel supérieur.
  • Notre procédé en attente de brevet permet d'extraire l'exosquelette de la larve de ténébrion, offrant une meilleure texture en bouche, et stérilise la chair, éliminant les risques de contamination et facilitant la conservation du produit.
  • Nos ténébrions sont élevés par TriCycle en économie circulaire et locale à partir de la drèche, un résidu alimentaire résultant du brassage de la bière de la brasserie 3 Brasseurs.

Qualité et durabilité

Toutes les protéines ne s’équivalent pas. Contrairement aux sources de protéines végétales, qui manquent toujours d'au moins un acide aminé, nos tartinades offrent un profil protéique complet. En fait, notre indice de qualité protéique (PDCAAS) est au même niveau que les meilleurs steaks. Aussi, la teneur en graisses saturées de nos tartinades est bien inférieure à tout autre produit traditionnel au goût similaire.

De plus, la production de nos ténébrions emploie les principes de l'économie circulaire. Ils sont élevés sur un résidu alimentaire appelé "drêche" issu de la brasserie de bière, qui serait autrement jeté. Notre procédé en attente de brevet permet d'extraire l'exosquelette de la larve de ténébrion, offrant une meilleure texture en bouche, et stérilise la chair, éliminant les risques de contamination et facilitant la conservation du produit. L'exosquelette est ensuite recyclé comme engrais pour l'agriculture.